MY SAUA-Z IndexImage: Calendar




For Faculty/Staff

Bookmark and Share

Complete the application to be an NSS Instructor for 2014-15

Click here

First Year Advisory Board

The First Year Advisory Board exists to develop an agenda for professional development, program enhancement, and collaborative decision-making for programs and initiatives related to first-year student success. The board is comprised of faculty, staff, and students.

Guidelines for Evaluating First Year Experience (pdf)

First Year Advisory Board Members

Allison Ambrose, PhD, Professor of Accounting
Ramona Amos, Intercultural Life
Jill Beinborn, Academic Advisor
Merredyth McManus, Asst. Dean for Student Retention
Sherri Erkel, PhD, Director of First Year Experience
Rev. Robert "Bud" Grant, PhD, Associate Professor of Theology and Director of General Education
Matt Hansen, Assistant Dean of Students and Director of Residence Life & Housing
Nancy Hayes, PhD, Associate Professor of English
Julia Dickinson, Assistant Director of the Library
Jason Richter, Director of Student Engagement 
Owen Rogal, PhD, Professor of English
Alyse Schmidt, Admissions Counselor
Tracey Schuster-Matlock, PhD, Associate Dean of University Academic Programs
Jessica Nash, Academic Support Specialist
Angela Wolfe, Assistant Director and Internship Coordinator/Recruiter of the Career Center

Learning Community 2014-15 Plan

For both continuing and new learning communities, please fill out the Learning Community Plan (.docx). Email the completed form to Sherri Erkel at
Applications are due January 31, 2014.


MAP-Works®, Making Achievement Possible, is a comprehensive, student retention and success program designed for first-year students. Students take a series of web-based surveys at key points in their first year, and faculty, staff, and administrators can use their results to intervene effectively and help the student be successful.

 MAP Works Guide (pdf)