MY SAUA-Z IndexImage: Calendar

First-Year-Experience

 

 

Referrals

Bookmark and Share

A referral promotes and creates communication between an advisor and another faculty/staff or campus resource. It's an action that brings specific attention to a particular student.

Reasons to create a referral could include, but are not limited to: a red flag concern, student issue outside of personal expertise, and attention to a student who might benefit from individual attention.

On this page, there are instructions on how to create, open a referral made to you, and close a referral.

Create a Referral

1. To create/log a referral, hover over the students name and choose the dropdown arrow. A popout box will appear with more choices. Choose Activity, then Create Referral (shown below).

create referral

2. Follow the prompts on the Create Referral screen and click Save.

Note: Interested Parties allows the person making the referral to include campus resources who aren't the primary referral but should have knowledge of the student's issue.

Opening a Referral Made to You

If you are a power user, or in a position to receive referrals, you should regularly check, respond and close the referral.

1. To open a referral that was issued to you, follow the prompts on the Home screen and click View Referrals (illustrated below).

overview

2. After choosing View Referrals, you will see a menu of any referrals made to you (shown below). After you have followed up with the referred student, click Add Related Activity to input details of your meeting. You can choose to make this activity Private, where only you can see the information, Share with Team(s), or Public. When finished, click Save.

add related activity

Closing a Referral

If you are a power user, or in a position to receive referrals, you should regularly check, respond and close the referral.

Once you have followed up with the referred student and added a related activity, you are able to Close the Referral by Marking It Complete (illustrated below).

mark referral as complete

Closing the referral will then notify the original person who made the referral to you, as well as any previously designated "interested parties." The notification will not include any other information then "Your referral has now been closed by [your name]." This ensures privacy while allowing the referral issuer to know that you have followed up with the student and no other action needs to be taken.