tracking pixel
international admissions


English Language Proficiency Requirements

Pencil and test

The strongest candidate for admission to St. Ambrose University will meet the following language requirements:

Please note: If you have not completed at least 2 semesters of academic work in English at the university level while maintaining a 2.0 Grade Point Average, then you will need to send us official copies of one of the following English test score reports. English language classes (such as ESL) do not count toward the 2 semester requirement.

ACT code is 1352
code is 6617
code is 6617

For Undergraduate Admissions:

TOEFL iBT minimum of 79

TOEFL PBT minimum of 550

IELTS minimum of 6.0

SAT minimum combined score of 870 (Math and Reading)

ACT minimum composite score of 18

ELS completion of level 112

IB Higher Level English minimum of 5

PTE minimum of 53

For Graduate Admissions*:

TOEFL iBT minimum of 85*

TOEFL PBT minimum of 563*

IELTS minimum of 6.5*

PTE minimum of 58

*University's minimum requirement. Certain graduate programs may require higher scores. 

Need to attend English Language Training courses before coming to SAU? Click Here (pdf) for more information

Need some practice for the English language proficiency exams? Click Here

Applicants are exempt from the English Language Proficiency Requirement if they meet any of the following criteria:

  • Applicants who are exempt from the English Language Proficiency Requirement will be required to take the SAT or ACT for scholarship consideration.
  • Earned a high school diploma, Associates of Arts, Associates of Science or bachelor's degree or higher from an accredited U.S. high school, college or university. Please note that completion of a GED does not waive the English Language Requirement.
  • Completed the equivalent of a high school education or the equivalent of a U.S. bachelor's degree in one of the following countries:
    Recognized English Speaking Countries
    Antigua & Barbuda 
    British Virgin Islands 
    Canada (English-speaking provinces) 
    Cayman Islands 
    Fiji Islands
    New Zealand
    Sierra Leone
    South Africa
    St. Lucia
    St. Vincent & the Grenadines
    St. Kitts & Nevis
    Trinidad & Tobago
    United Kingdom
    United States of America
    U.S. Virgin Islands
    West Indies