tracking pixel
News and Events

Ambrosians Win State Broadcast Awards

May 2013

The Iowa Broadcast News Association recently announced state award winners at their annual convention in Des Moines. Once again, the students and staff at St. Ambrose University's media outlets, SAUtv and KALA radio, were among those honored in the "Student Market" division. Submissions were judged against peer schools by a panel of experts.

First Place Honors:
Tom Prior - Radio Sports Play-by-Play

Second Place Honors:
Tim McNicholas - TV In-Depth Reporting "Housekeeping"

J.W. Siedlecki - TV Sports Play-by-Play
Sara Clifton, Sam Peterlin, Tom Prior, Austin Eiben - TV Overall Excellence "Year in Review"
Sam Peterlin - TV News Photography "Superior Labels"

Third Place Honors:
Sara Clifton - TV Overall Excellence in Reporting
Tim McNicholas - TV Political Reporting "President Obama Visit"

Several SAU alums also received honors in the professional divisions.
First Place Honors:
Chris Hassel '07 (WHO-TV) as part of the staff for "Best Large Market Sportscast"
Second Place Honors:
Mike Ortiz '87 (KWQC-TV) - TV Large Market Feature "Kool Aid Kid"
Third Place Honors:
Johnna Klossing '09 (KWQC-TV) as part of the news team for "Best Large Market Spot News Coverage" of the Quad City Air Show Crash.

MORE LIKE THIS:Communication

More Headlines

Rss News OffSee All News Off

More Happenings

Rss Events OffSee All Events Off