tracking pixel
News and Events

Professor of the Year

June 2013

Professor of the Year Heather Medema-Johnson teaches in the exercise science and human performance programs.

"Dr. Medema-Johnson wants to see her students succeed and become good practicing clinicians but more importantly, she wants to see them be good, well-rounded people," said one student who nominated her. "She is exactly the type of professor that makes me so proud to be an Ambrosian."

Medema-Johnson is a NSCA Certified Strength and Conditioning Specialist, a NATA Certified Athletic Trainer, and a Certified Group Fitness Instructor. Her field and research experience includes working with general, recreationally active and older populations, as well as high-school, collegiate, Olympic and professional athletes. She earned her doctorate in health and sports studies from the University of Iowa, Iowa City.

The Full Scoop:
Who were the other nominees?

  • Joseph Hebert, Political Science
  • Sharon Marquad, Nursing
  • Ryan Dye, Center for Education/ History
  • Julie Kettmann, Psychology
  • Tim Gillespie, Mathematics
  • Darci Becker, MSLP
  • Heather Medema-Johnson, Kinesiology
  • Patrick Archer, Sociology/Criminal Justice
  • Charles Manges, Master of Education in Educational Administration
  • Richard Robertson, Education
  • Michael Puthoff, Physical Therapy
  • Nancy Hayes, English
  • Christopher Barnum, Criminal Justice
  • Mario Hedden, Nursing
  • Jim Baumann, Communications
  • Sharon Bartlett, French/ Women Studies

MORE LIKE THIS:College of Health and Human Services, Faculty & Staff News/Achievements, For Alumni, Kinesiology

More Headlines

Rss News OffSee All News Off

More Happenings

Rss Events OffSee All Events Off