tracking pixel
News and Events

Communication Majors Win Broadcast Awards

June 2014

According to Iowa Broadcast News Association (IBNA) Executive Director Jeff Stein, the Association received a record number of entries this year. Given that, seven St. Ambrose communication students have much to be proud of, receiving awards for their work at SAU radio and television stations KALA-FM and SAUtv.

Mary Madormo '13, received a second place award for "In-Depth/Series" on KALA-FM.

Tom Prior '14 and Kelly Steiner '14 received first place for "Best Newscast" on KALA-FM.

Mary Schechinger '13 received second place in the "Feature" category on SAUtv.

Shelby Steger received third place in the "Best Sportscast" category for her work on SAUtv.

Mitch Widmeier received two honors for work on KALA-FM, both first place awards in the "Sports Play-By-Play" and "Sports Coverage" categories.

Nick Vlasin '14 received third place the "Feature" category for his work at SAUtv.

KALA received third place in the non-student "Large Market Radio" category.
SAUtv won second place for "Best Newscast."
KALA's David Baker, Jay Swords and John Kealey received third place in the "Public Affairs" category.

MORE LIKE THIS:About SAU Students, Communication

More Headlines

Rss News OffSee All News Off

More Happenings

Rss Events OffSee All Events Off