tracking pixel
News and Events

Student Achievement Celebrated

three people

Fr. Chuck Adam with Ambrosian Spirit Award presenters Kathleen Hall and Colleen Persaud.

See photos of all the winners here.

May 2017

Rev. Chuck Adam has been showing his Ambrosian spirit since before he earned his undergraduate degree from St. Ambrose in 1982. Now, he has a trophy to prove it.

Fr. Adam was presented the Ambrosian Spirit award and named Staff Member of the Year at Thursday's 26th Annual Student Awards Night ceremonies in the Rogalski Center ballroom.

The campus chaplain since 2000, Fr. Adam will leave SAU in July to become pastor of St. Thomas More Parish in Coralville, Iowa. He was honored along with nearly 80 students, many departing seniors, at the annual year-end awards ceremony which recognizes achievement in the classroom and the promotion of the St. Ambrose mission across campus and in the community.

Nicholas Enz, PhD, assistant professor of music and director of bands, was presented the Faculty of the Year Award. John Barr, PT, PhD, a founding member of the Doctor of Physical Therapy program who is retiring next week, was presented the Graduate Faculty of the Year Award.

Timothy Niedermeier was named Parent of the Year after being nominated by his son, Jonah Niedermeier.

Senior Juliana Froehlich received the Stanley J. Kabat Leadership Award, and Emily Thompson was named Graduate Student of the Year.

From the nomination for Ambrosian Spirit Award:

"Father Chuck's ministry to the St. Ambrose community is a gift to all. He exemplifies the best of what it means to be an Ambrosian in his genuine care for others — listening with a welcoming heart and meeting people where they are in life. He is very engaged in campus activities and gets to know everyone by name. His Saturday Mornings with Father Chuck on Facebook and column in the weekly Campus Ministry Bulletin are encouraging, hopeful and challenging — a little something for everyone!"

From the nomination for Parent of the Year:

"My father has been my foundation every step of the way through my life. ... I applied to St. Ambrose University and fell in love with the place before I even attended. My father made it a goal of his to put me through school with as little debt as possible. It was a seemingly impossible task but with some loans, overtime on his part, and my work study positions, we managed. ... I look to my father as my biggest, most influential role model. He is who I idolize to be like and I think he should be recognized for his contribution to my future."

From the nomination for Faculty of the Year:

"There is not a person on campus who cares more about the success of his students than Dr. Nick Enz. ... He never lets a student fall through the cracks, no matter their major or involvement in music and has a great rapport with everyone he talks to. He will make sure that students are receiving the best education possible, even if it means changing his schedule or going out of his way to give them that. Dr. Enz has made the Music Department a better place since his arrival and continues to grow the band program and create better musicians and students all around."

From the nomination for Graduate Faculty Member of the Year:

"Dr. Barr's encouragement, dedication, and tireless efforts as a professor and advisor have shaped our time in PT school, and have positively impacted all of us personally as well as professionally. We cannot think of anyone more deserving of the title of Graduate Faculty Member of the Year."

From the nomination the Stanlley J. Kabat Leadership Award:

"The Stanley J. Kabat Leadership Award recognizes the student who best exemplifies Stan's qualities of leadership, citizenship, and commitment to excellence. This year's recipient is a student who has been actively involved with St. Ambrose throughout her career. She has been involved in many clubs and organization. Too name a few of Juliana's activities, she has been a leader on the Campus Activities Board, STARs (Student Trained as Role Model), and Peer Assistant. She will graduate next week with her Bachelor of Science in nursing degree."

From the nomination for Graduate Student of the Year:

"Through her passion in her leadership roles it was clear that Emily exudes professionalism, positivity, enthusiasm and respect for every graduate student. Through her Graduate Student Government Association presidential role, she spent every week advocating for graduate students."

Other Thursday award winners:

Sister Annette Walters Award for Outstanding Senior Psychology Student: Sarah Wurster
Excellence in Psychology Service Award: Jada Mathison & Sarah Wurster
Faith Learning Justice Award: Colleen Persaud, Corri Goldsmith, A.J. Adam
Wilber Award for Student Research in Non-violence: Ian South
Derrek D. Drexler Employees of the Year Award: Mary Kate Scatena & Evan Ross
Kilfoy Cup Award: Christina Shaw, Lucas Terveer
Triota Honor Society: Madison Grundler, Jennifer Lorenz
Kokjohn Foundation Scholarship for Peace & Justice: Ancilla Parducci, Anna Badamo, Elizabeth Braun, Elizabeth Miller, Megan Leon, Lynardra Martin, Colton Jessen, Lauren Schoeder, Sara Killackey, Savannah Gluck, Corrigan Goldsmith, Marcella Boers, Laura Siddal, Ian South, Jena Rice, Emma Weis
Sister Ritamary Bradley Award: Briana Morales
Above and Beyond Award: Corry Rediger
Outstanding Student in Criminal Justice: Ryan Ford
Most Dedicated to Study of Criminal Justice: Henryk Bronislaw Hinkle-Zaleski
Outstanding Senior in Sociology: Alexandra Brown
Outstanding International Studies Student: Beth Ann Koustas
Outstanding Political Science Student: Andrew Marcum, Alex Najda
Frank and Jane Folwell Award in Political Science and Pre-Law: Wil Cooper
Modern Language & Culture Award: Elizabeth Heidenrich
Student Disability Services Student Leadership Award: Diamond Merboth
Student Disability Services Service Award: Seth Hankins
Florence Nightingale Award: Mary Skafidas
Luther Christman Leadership Award: Cassandra Reiley
Department of Nursing Community Service Award: Juliana Froelich
Department of Nursing Writing Excellence Award: Kristin Pruitt
College Reading & Learning Association Level 1 Tutoring Certification: Anna Badamo, Alicia Bowden, Taegan Ertmer, Kathleen Hall, Abigail Hammer, An Gie Leong, Emelia Otting, Mary Roche, Catherine Steck, Sheiny Tjia, Katherine Williams
College Reading & Learning Association Level 2 Tutoring Certification: Karli Atkinson, Savannah Gluck
Outstanding Senior Library Student Employee: Jacob Godlewski
Michael A. Orfitelli Award for Sport Management: Jeffrey Habjan
Leo T. Kilfoy Award for Physical Education: Drake Leeper
Major of the Year for Exercise Science: Connor Obert & Kaelin Trippe
Major of the Year for Human Performance & Fitness: Deanna Busse
Male Scholar-Athlete of the Year: Ross Hendry
Female Scholar-Athlete of the Year: Ashlyn Rulis
Agnes Renner Award: Brendan Morris, Andrew Marcum
George McDaniel Scholar: William Cooper, Mary Perez
Outstanding Graphic Design Student: Lindsay O'Brien
Book Arts Award: Morgan Allen
Eleanor Page Fox Painting Award: Emma Hubner
John Schmitts Excellence in Art Award: Cassie Hall
Outstanding Theater Major: Allie Stecklein
Residence Life "Of the Year" Awards: Student of the Year: Murphy Garcia; Resident Advisor of the Year: Ellen Joerger; Elevated Staff Member of the Year: Brooke Neumann; Program of the Year: Keegan Steele on behalf of Cosgrove Residence Life Staff & SAU L.U.L.A.C. Collegiate Council
Thomas F. Chouteau Art History Award: Morgan Schrock
Olive C. Farr Scholarship Award from the Iowa Physical Therapy Foundation: Laura Moorman, Kelsey Penrod

MORE LIKE THIS:About SAU Students, AmbroseZine, Faculty & Staff News/Achievements

More Headlines

Rss News OffSee All News Off

More Happenings

Rss Events OffSee All Events Off