Pacem in Terris

Peace and Freedom Award

The Pacem in Terris Peace and Freedom Award was created in 1964 by the Davenport Catholic Interracial Council.

The award is presented by the Davenport Diocese in collaboration with other organization(s) to honor a person for their achievements in peace and justice, not only in their country but in the world.

The first Pacem in Terris award was given to John F. Kennedy in 1964. Since then it has included such notables as the activist Dorothy Day and religious figures such as Blessed Mother Teresa.

Award Recipients

sister norma and bishop zinkula

Sister Norma Pimentel

2022 Recipient

The Quad City Pacem in Terris Coalition selected Sister Norma Pimentel to receive this year's Pacem in Terrris Peace and Freedom Award.

She was selected for her dedication to serving asylum seekers as executive director of Catholic Charities of the Rio Grande Valley in the Brownsville Diocese in Texas.

Read more about Sister Norma

So, what's next?

Are you ready to take the next step? Click on the visit button below to learn more about our virtual and in-person visit options.